Peak

I am not someone who spends a ton of time on my phone. I’ll play the occasional game, check Instagram a few times, and pull it out in awkward situations (that’s what phones are really for, am I right?), but I’ve never been that attached to my device.

A month ago, everything changed…

I downloaded the app “Peak” after a suggestion from a friend and I have been hooked ever since. I would describe our relationship as frustrating and addicting (probably not healthy if those are the two words that come to mind), but I like to tell myself that it’s educational. IMG_0234 10

Centered around exercising your brain, Peak provides you with “daily activities” (fun games) that are supposed to help you grow in different categories. When I first started my training, my scores were awful. I tried each of the games for about a week until, feeling upset and kind of dumb, I did what any person would do and created an entirely new account.

Determined to succeed the second time around, I realized there was a way to ensure I got the best scores possible: play each game over and over again until I get a perfect score. While this may not be indicative of my actual “Peak brain score”, at least it serves the purpose of making me feel good about myself.

IMG_0233 11

My inflated brain score that only looks this way because I cheat

Unfortunately, a good brain score comes with a cost: my time. In order to make sure I get a perfect score on each of the games, I have to spend hours completing four games that are supposed to take a minute each.

IMG_0239 11

My memory “workout” for the day

Overall, Peak is definitely one of my favorite apps. However, for people as competitive as me, it should be downloaded with the knowledge that it has the ability to uproot your life.

I’m not sure if it has actually made me smarter, but it has definitely given me a lesson in time management!

Leave a comment